Image credit:

Astrology Modalities

You’re probably already familiar with the Four Elements in astrology – Earth, Water, Air, and Fire. The Three Astrology Modalities, sometimes called the Qualities, are an additional way to classify each of the 12 zodiac signs. While the Elements are linked to the general personality traits of the signs, the Three Modalities have more to do with a person’s attitude in life – literally, their “modus operandi.” Knowing which of the Three Modalities your sign falls under can give you a good idea of how you engage with the world and can also offer insight into some of the key themes in your life.

There are Three Astrology Modalities in total – Cardinal signs, Fixed signs, and Mutable signs. Each of the Three Modalities share certain strengths as well as challenges that they will likely face. However, the way each Modality manifests itself is determined by the individual’s zodiac sign. For example, while Aries and Libra are both Cardinal signs, their Cardinal energy will manifest differently. Let’s find out which of the Three Modalities you fall under and what that can tell you about yourself!

What Are the Cardinal Signs?

The four Cardinal signs are: Aries, Cancer, Libra and Capricorn. Their key quality is leadership. The Cardinal signs all share an initiatory spirit. While leadership manifests in different ways among the four signs, all are charismatic and great at motivating groups. The Cardinal signs have a lot of power and plenty of start-up energy, but they often lose steam and struggle with follow-through. They are also highly motivated to be in control, which can be both an asset and a challenge, depending on the situation. Their shared primary challenge in life is learning how to deal with changing circumstances and the proper use of their influence and power.

What Are the Fixed Signs?

The four Fixed signs are: Leo, Taurus, Scorpio, and Aquarius. Their key quality is loyalty. Fixed signs have a great deal of follow-through and once they are committed – whether it be to a person, a project, or an ideal – they remain loyal. Their persevering nature means that they can and do work through any challenge that comes up. The Fixed signs tend to be more inwardly focused and will resist outside attempts to change their lives. They have a strong sense of purpose and are unyielding in the pursuit of their goals, but they can also be stubborn. Their shared primary challenge in life is learning how to deal with change and how to let go of an ideal that is no longer serving them.

What Are the Mutable Signs?

The four Mutable signs are: Sagittarius, Pisces, Gemini, and Virgo. Their key quality is flexibility. Mutable signs function well under changing circumstances and have an innate ability to navigate the ups and downs of life gracefully. The Mutable signs are also very impressionable and can be vulnerable to outside influences. They will often absorb the feelings, traits, and skills of those around them. However, this is precisely what makes them so adaptable and is part of why they do so well with change. As the most sensitive group in the Three Astrology Modalities, their shared primary challenge in life is overcoming their fears.

Astrology Modalities and Moon Signs

In addition to considering which of the Three Modalities your sun sign falls under, you may also want to consider the modality of your moon sign. Your moon sign is all about your inner life and emotions. Since our feelings are a huge part of how we experience the world, it may be helpful to learn the modality of your moon sign. That way, you can take both into consideration as you meet challenges and make your way through life!